CAN ICE CREAM BE GLUTEN-FREE?
It doesn’t get much better than an ice cream, well, ever really (we’d eat it for breakfast if we could). But for people who are gluten-free, it can be a bit of a tricky question of whether they can eat it at all. We know, life’s not fair.
If you’ve ever found yourself asking “does ice cream have gluten in it?”, we’ve got good news. Because, the answer can be yes, but it can also be a big fat no. You just need to know what you’re looking for.
There are all kinds of ice cream flavours that are safe to enjoy whenever you want if you’re on a gluten-free diet. You just need to have your wits about you when you’re down the shops and always read the label before you tuck into your favourite ice cream.
As a rule of thumb, simpler flavours of ice cream are way less likely to contain gluten. So, if vanilla or strawberry is right up your freezer aisle or you’re a bit of a chocoholic, then you should be fine. Fewer ingredients means that there’s less chance they have gluten in them. But as we said before, always check the label because a few ice cream manufacturers have been known to used wheat as a thickening agent.
Steering clear of gluten get trickier with more complicated flavours. For example, recipes that have baked ingredients in them can be a massive red flag. Plus, gluten can pop up under quite a few different names on the label. This includes names like triticum vulgare, triticale, hordeum vulgare, secale cereal and triticum spelta.
And even if you can’t find any form of gluten on the label, there’s always a chance that your ice cream could be contaminated. So, we recommend trying to buy gluten-free ice cream where you can or, as we said before, stick your spoon into simpler flavours. In this case, try a little bit of your ice cream before really getting stuck in and see how your body reacts. But if you do start to have any negative side effects then put down the tub, bub.
However, there are a couple of ways you can guarantee your ice cream is gluten-free. You can either don that chef’s hat and make it yourself. Or you could try something like Swedish Glace, who make delicious desserts especially for people who can’t eat gluten.
Swedish Glace is made without a single ingredient containing gluten. And what’s more, it’s not even that hard to track down. You can find all kinds of delicious gluten-free flavours and products in all of the big supermarkets. There’s an entire range to choose from so we can guarantee that your inner ice cream fanatic will be satisfied. Whether you like your ice cream in a bowl or covered in chocolate on a stick.
It really is a game changer. So, check out the frozen section next time you’re doing your weekly shop and find out more at www.wallsswedishglace.co.uk.